Military Helicopter Pilot to Airlines

Hello Everyone,

I am currently a Blackhawk Helicopter Pilot in the National Guard with about 300 hrs. and am just starting to work on my private pilots. Does anyone have any recommendations for routes to the airlines? My initial thoughts were: fly as much as I can on the military side while finishing up my privates, and at 500 hrs. total, quit my full time job and enroll at ATP flight school to get the last 250 hrs. required for my restricted ATP.

Once I reach my 750 hours required for R-ATP, do you think I will have issues making it to a regional with no CFI time? I know your hours are kind of like your resume… so I’m skeptical. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Bradley,

Hello and welcome to the forum. I like your plan, I would just be sure to verify that you will qualify for the R-ATP with 250 of your hours being civilian time. Call ATP admin as they can help verify that for you. If you do, then I think your plan is the fastest way possible to the regionals and most likely the fastest path to the majors as well.

As for getting hired at the regionals, I think you will be very well positioned with your military time and some fixed wing time. I took a look at CommutAir’s requirements for a military pilot and this is what they are:

• Graduated from a military pilot training program
  • DD-214 or record of current service assignment
  • 200 hours of cross-country time
  • 100 hours of night time
  • 75 hours of instrument time
  • 25 hours of actual multi-engine time
  • 250 Hours fixed wing pilot in command (PIC) time

Just make sure you have all of those other things as well, it is not just 750 hours.

Let us know what other questions you have.

Chris

1 Like

Bradley,