Other recommendations?

Hello,
I am in the process of hopefully beginning this flight program in May 2018. I began flight lessons to begin working on my private license in Nov '17. My plan is to continue to work on these hours until May. Due to weather and lack of space at the airport for more flying time, I do not believe I will be able to enter ATP with my private lic. I went for my first class physical last week and my next step is to secure the financial end. I have spoken with someone within the program and I believe I am following the correct steps? My goal is to fly commercial. I hold a BS degree from the University of TN. Other than completing ATP’s program and securing the appropriate amount of hours required to work in the commercial industry, what other suggestions do you have?

Thank you,
Lisa Presnell

Lisa,

Sounds like you’re doing everything you need to do to be successful moving forward. My biggest advice however is if you don’t think you’ll complete your Private by May then I would stop throwing money at it and cut your losses. While many pilots are successful coming in with their PPLs, it’s considerably easier starting again from the beginning using ATPs methods and procedures. Save you money by not flying and start working on banging out as many of the written exams (if not all) as you can. This will eliminate a huge distraction and significantly lighten the work load.