Parents giving me a hard time about loans and want me to go to the military

Hello guys and girls , I hope you are doing good. I am doing ok myself. I posted here about a month ago in regards to me taking out private loans to pay for flight training. Right now I am a third year college student and I will be graduating next year summer I will be about 22 years when I graduate. I will have 100k in federal student loans and if I take out private loans for flight school I will be over 200k in debt. Given the advice here, that debt is worth it since career earnings will repay that. My parents are scared and don’t want me to take on more debt. They believe that if I take out private loans my life will be ruined. So they want me to join the military but that is a very competitive process and very time costly as well. It is not even guaranteed I become a officer let alone a pilot in the Air Force in the next 3 years or so. To be honest, my heart is not into the military so I would clearly be at a disadvantage motivationally wise compared to those that actually want to be in the military. I don’t know what to do :pensive::cry: I really want to be an airline pilot and I feel like that is never going to happen, especially given how now is the best time to become a career airline pilot. I have honestly been losing sleep over this. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

Divine,

This is something I suppose you need to sort out with your parents (as I’m assuming you’d need them to co-sign?).

I have to be honest however as I can’t really relate. I was out of the house at 18 and have been making my own decisions since. While I agree that joining the military for free flight instruction is a bad idea, you are wrong about being an officer. If you’ve got a 4yr degree, you will be an officer but getting a flying slot is questionable?