Prospective pilot from canada

Hey everyone, I have few questions about becoming a pilot.

First off I hear a lot of chatter about how it’s hard to get hired on a major airline without a degree. Is this true? I do not have a degree ( I am an Agricultural technician) , but I do have my Red seal (Diploma from a college for completing the apprenticeship program).

Another question I have is about my financial situation. I am making very good money at the job I am working right now and am wondering what the best way/ way that makes the most financial sense to get my license. I am going to be taking a FAM flight at a local flight school and if all goes well, will be getting my private pilots license as a part time endeavor so that I can still be making money to help pay for flight lessons. Once I have my private pilots license would it be beneficial for me to get my pilots license taking lessons full time or to work away at it while working full time? Also I should also mention that I am at a stage in my life where I already own a house and a vehicle along with a couple toys (quad, snowmobile) so I would like to prolong working as a flight instructor/on a ramp as long as I can as I understand those jobs do not pay near as well. That being said, I do understand that if I want this to work and want to make this a career I am going to have to make some sacrifices and I am willing to do that, but would like other’s opinions on how they would do it if they were in my shoes.

Thanks in advance for the replies I appreciate you help.

Nathan,

To get hired at a major airline you will need a four year college degree. I am not versed in the red seal, but I can tell you that the majors will be looking for a full degree.