Prospective student

Hello pilots, so firstly, I got an associate degree in culinary arts and truth be told, I really have never been happy in the kitchen. So I’m looking for a career change, and am thinking about becoming a pilot. So, any advice would be appreciated. The reason I’m thinking of becoming a pilot is because I want to challenge myself and push myself further. Thanks for any and all advice/ info.

Graham,

Not sure what kind of advice you’re looking(?) for but I recommend you spend some time browsing this forum. Maybe start with the FAQs (https://airlinepilot.life/c/Ask-your-questions-and-get-real-answers-from-real-pilots/frequently-asked-questions) as you’re sure to get some answers to the most FAQs. After that maybe come back with more specific questions.

Other than that I have to ask have you ever flown a small plane? While many people are captivated by the idea of being a pilot and enjoy sitting in the back flying to Florida for Spring Break the fact is until you’ve flown in a small airplane you really don’t know. If the answer is no you haven’t I STRONGLY recommend you do before you spend too much time and energy on something you really may not enjoy. If there’s an ATP location nearby they have a fantastic Intro Flight program (https://atpflightschool.com/programs/intro-training-flight.html) if not just Google your closest flight school and schedule a lesson. Until you do you simply won’t know.

Adam