Retirement Plan

I am currently a police officer in the state of Ohio and I am enrolled in the Ohio Police & Fire retirement system. I was wondering which retirement system, if any, that airlines use? I was also wondering if anyone knows if my time with the police department, approximately 11 years, can be bought for contribute to another retirement system or if I may have to look at cashing it out. I know this may be a difficult question to answer but if anyone knows I would appreciate the help.

Some airlines still have a A fund, which is your typical pension plan. Iā€™m pretty sure UPS and Fedex has one. Most major airlines now have done away with the A fund or have it frozen. The B fund or a 401k savings is common place.

Usually you have to stay for the show even if you have tickets. Which means if you leave, the pension leaves with you.

Jesse,

The days of pilot pensions are gone. While some airlines still have plans for very senior pilots whoā€™ve been grandfathered in, the VAST majority have simply gone to 401Ks. While FedEx and UPS still offer a DB plan, most everyone agrees those wonā€™t survive the next contracts.

As I said you should count on a 401K and depending on what you have now you may or may not be able to roll that into the new one. Thatā€™s why there are accountants! :wink:

Adam

Jesse,

You might have some issues rolling your money into a corporate 401k as your money is either a true pension or part of some government type program. You would need to talk with an investment advisor to be sure though.

Chris

Although I agree the days of pilot pensions are gone for the majority. Things do constantly change, but to say most everyone agrees those wonā€™t survive the next contracts is subjective and purely speculative.

Arthun,