Talking with ATC

I’m currently a student pilot with 14.1 hours, and my instructor pointed out that every time I talk with ATC, I say things in different orders almost every time. For example, sometimes I’ll say, “Cleared for takeoff, runway 24, Cessna 49285”, and sometimes I’ll say “Cessna 49285, cleared for takeoff, runway 24”. I do this subconsciously; I don’t actively try and switch it up.
I was wondering is this was okay as long as I got the correct information across, or if I should try developing saying things in the correct order according to proper etiquette. Honestly it’s going to be a bit challenging for me because that’s how my brain works; it wants to process information and do it correctly (correct information) rather than perfectly (correct info + order).

Your fine. The General Idea is:
Pilot Calling tower =“ Tower, Cessna N49258 holding short RW24 ready for departure ”
Pilot Responding to Tower = “Clear for Takeoff RW24, Cessna N49258”

ATC says stuff in different orders all the time and pilots read back slightly different many times. Practice out loud in the car or at home. Not the end of the world as long as correct info is passed along.

If it makes you feel better, I’m 2500hrs & forgot to readback the Runway I was cleared for takeoff the other week & today my Capt handed out chiropractor gift cards after his “firm landing” haha.
We all make mistakes, key is to debrief and learn from them.

Fly safe & have fun,
Chris F

1 Like

thank you so much for your reply! I’ll keep all that in mind:)

Megan,
You are still so new with only 14 hours! Don’t worry, you’re getting your point across right now. The more time you practice, the better you’ll get! If you want to listen to live ATC, that seems to help but for now, don’t stress! It’s like learning a new language. It will come:)

-Hannah

1 Like

Megan,