Unemployment gap

Hello! I am a 30 year old aspiring airline pilot. This year I start my ATP training, however one concern came across my mind lately. I always wanted to be a pilot but 10 years ago it wasn’t possible (financially), now a family member will help me pay for my ATP training.
So I got my bachelors degree in business and then one job in marketing and after that another job in finance. Both jobs didn’t last a long time and I quit because working in that field was just not for me. (Nevertheless, I did my best at both jobs and made some good results for time being).
My concern is, I have been unemployed for 2.5 years, not sitting-on-a couch type of unemployed but during that time I started working on a project which I have hoped could turn into small business, but it failed. I also did a lot of volunteer work during that time, but non of this was any kind of employment.

My question is, will this gap cause me any trouble when it comes a time for me to have an interview with an airline? I will do my absolute best to excel in my flight training and aviation knowledge, but will I be at disadvantage because of this gap in my non-avitaion employment history?

Thank you for you help!!

Tim,

No need to stress. If it comes to during an interview (probably will), just explain it as you did above.

The airlines are more concerned with your qualifications as a pilot.

Adam

Tim,

I do not see this being an issue for you. Just explain it and you should be fine.

Chris

Adam and Chris,

thank you so much!! Really appreciate it!

Kind regards,

Tim

Hey Tim!

First off, congratulations on starting your journey towards becoming an airline pilot! It’s an exciting path, and it’s great to hear that you’re pursuing your dream.