US & EU Dual Citizenship: Best Route to Becoming a Major US Airline Pilot?

Hi all!

After 5 months of quietly observing this forum, here’s my 1st post :slight_smile:

I’m a 33 year old who at the start of this year decided it was not too late for a career change and to pursue a career in aviation as a pilot.

I got accepted at ATP Long Beach, but haven’t started yet since I’m currently studying for my PAR, IRA, CAX written exams, which I’m planning to take before (I’m also working part-time as a ramp agent @ Envoy Air).

My biggest concern to ATP right now however is the 1500-hour rule in the US vs. 200-hour rule in the EU. Instead of the 1000+ hours of flight experience as a CFI in a single-engine aircraft, to lessen my financial commitment and time and since I have dual citizenship, wouldn’t it make more sense for me to pursue 200+ hours of airline-specific experience as FO in EU?

I’ve done some research on the differences and similarities of the EASA ATPL and FAA ATPL and 1) it seems that there are some US flight schools that offer EASA ATPL programs, and 2) it’s relatively easy to convert your EASA ATPL to FAA ATPL.

Ideally, I’d like to stay in the US for flight school since I already live here as well as my family so having that stability and support system would make going through flight school a lot easier, but I am willing to move to EU for flight school if necessary.

I’d love your thoughts on whether this is the best and most economical route, or if sticking with ATP and obtaining an FAA ATPL is better for becoming a pilot at a major US airline.

Appreciate your time and looking forward to your advice.

Best,

David

David,

Not sure where you’re getting your info not it’s not easy to convert your EASA ATPL to FAA and FAA to EASA is even harder. Further 200hrs EU mins are for AB Initio MPL airline programs where you’re trained to be a Type specific FO and don’t even have the ability to fly solo.