What's Best for My Situation?

I’m sure that these type of questions get asked often, and I apologize if this is better suited for a different section of the forum.

My situation: Like thousands of others, my dream has been and always will be to be a pilot of an airliner.

I have no flying experience but setting up my first lesson next week or shortly after. I’m 24 (turning 25), I have a meteorology degree, and I’m employed by the USAF as a weather officer.

And that’s the problem. I have 2.5 years remaining in service commitment. During that time, I could probably obtain my PPL and possibly even up to my commercial. I’d say that’s doable, although it looks super costly. So what’s the hangup?

I feel somewhat overwhelmed. Is it best to try and fly as much as possible while I finish up my service commitment, then try and land an instructing job when I get out? Or is it better to wait until summer of 2022, when I’m eligible to separate, to dive head-first into a pricey but condensed program like ATP, a flight school, or similar?

Another option is I could talk to my current commander about putting a package in to fly for the Air Force. Financially, it’s enticing, yes. The problem is that tacks on 10 more years of mandatory service, which is 10 years of moving up in seniority gone. At a minimum I would be 35 when hired by an airline which feels like a scary thought.

I feel like the options are many, and I’m not sure what’s the best for me. I’m reaching out here (and elsewhere) in hopes of finding MY path. Any advice appreciated. I’m terribly sorry if threads like this are discouraged but this community seems like a good one to ask this to.

Thanks all :slight_smile:

Brandon,

No apologies needed, we are here to answer questions :slight_smile:

Flight training is costly. Period. Going through local flight schools often ends up costing just as much (or more) as accelerated programs due to very low estimates and hidden costs.