What's the best route to go?

I am currently enrolled as a freshman engineering student at a university. I know I want to have a career as an airline pilot. I have been flying on and off for the past 2 years trying to get my private pilots license, but due to certain circumstances it has been extremely difficult. I was very close to taking my written by the end of this last summer but then the semester started and I have had no time to study or fly at all. I have tried to fly on the weekends but I find it worthless because my flights are never consistent making it hard to keep all the knowledge on top of all my school work. The only time i know that I would really be able to fly consistently is in the summers and it sucks because I hate having to wait and go that long without flying. I am torn on what path I want to take. I have thought about doing my first 2 years of college and then going to ATP school, but as i have done some research a lot of people seem to not like ATP not to mention its outrageous expense. I have also heard that the next few years are the prime time to get into the airline industry. I really want to start flying as soon as possible, but i’m not sure how to go about it taking into consideration my education and all the expenses. I would really appreciate any responses. Thanks :slight_smile:

Katya,

First and foremost if you look up and to the left you’ll clearly see the ATP logo. This is ATPs forum and all the mentors, current and former students on here are or were ATP students and instructors. Needless to say we’re all partial to the program. Understand we’re not sales people nor are we trying to get you to go to ATP, it’s simply the route we all took and the route that worked for us. Now that we got that out of the way let’s talk.