1mo Progress Report for PPL at Local Airport

Hi Folks,
Posting cuz I think this might help others especially if our mentors comment.
Here is my current experience getting the PPL *PRIOR * to possibly joining ATP.

1. Price: lies! The current place I’m training quotes the cheapest everything on their website, none of which I use (aircraft, the minimum hrs everything takes, an underestimated hourly-CFI rate, among other unexpected price gauges). Find someone who has recent experience to tell you what the costs are!!
  2. Ground School: its allll on you, assuming you do online courses. No teachers, no classes or classmates, no shortcuts. Do the work or else.
    I am studying like crazy amidst a full time job and its a LOT to learn. Especially weather and sectionals. Thoughts from Mentors about studying??
    I’ve just been repeatedly taking practice tests and studying the ones I miss. 5wks in and will take the FAA written by Early March at this pace (Using Sporty’s, I like it mostly! I do want more physical books though).
  3. Instructor: $85/hr. Seems like a lot. Adds up big time. How do we best utilize our CFIs?
  4. Landing- not good at it after 3 hours and 12 touchdowns so far… advice? I feel like aiming at the numbers makes me nervous I’ll undershoot the runway but then I over-flare and bounce.
    Slow flight approach is wobbly and its hard to focus on aligning w the centerline while getting pitch and altitude correct.
  5. Only 10 hrs flight time so far in 5 weeks. (Mostly my job traveling, plus weather). It seems like my CFI is almost ready to turn me solo once I master landing but I feel very underprepared. Thoughts?
  6. Questions- once I have my PPL, how many hours should I practice solo, honing skills, before I talk to ATP about continuing there? Can I realistically keep my job or do I go all in after PPL? I’m in an entirely different industry right now and really don’t wanna quit this job in the next 18mos unless I absolutely have to. But maybe I do!!