A few lingering questions re: ATP & this career path

Hi there,

First I’d like to thank everyone’s time for reading and responding to this extensive post. I’ve read quite a few articles on the accelerated ATP curriculum already and spoke with a few family friends that are pilots, but figured I’ll field my questions here as well to get a comprehensive set of answers. I’m pretty new to this so please excuse any language misuse.

I’m 26 years old (female) with a pretty good job in management consulting for a large firm earning close to $100k a year and with a sizable bonus every year. With that said, I’ve decided that if I have to spend another Christmas on a 3 hr conference call I might just rage-quit my job with no backup plan. Becoming a pilot has always been a dream of mine–I’ve flown in the Dreamliner, the A380, 777 all over the world, and I finally believe I’m ready to take the plunge with this career shift after taking a discovery flight and a brief stint in a simulator. Here are a few questions I have:

1. I’m 4’11" – I know this might sounds like a rather silly question but I’ve been receiving mixed responses on whether this will be an issue as a trainee and as pilot. Responses I’ve received range from “not at all” to “yup, you’ll never fly for a major since they all have height requirements(?)”

2. I’ve been reading that the majors are not as desperate as regionals in hiring new FOs, and thus there is no real increase in probabilities of being hired a few years from now. Do you think this is true? If so, assuming that I do well in my training, earn my hours, etc. am I still potentially looking at never making my current amount since I’ll be at regionals for a very long time?
    In calculating the ROIs and making this decision, I’ve already accepted and planned for the fact that over the next 5-7 years I will be making considerably less, but I have a hard time predicting what earning potentials are like 7+ years from training.