New prospect for ATP/switching careers

Hey ATP Team, say I am new to the forum here and recently joined last week. First I would like to say hi to everyone and I am curious on some questions I have. I am interested in ATP school (Minneapolis location). I was texting with admissions, and sound like to get a tour of the location I just need to call and set up a test flight. I was going to do that this coming week.

To give you a little background on me, Aviation has always been on my mind. I do not have my PPL, but I have flown with my cousin in a 182 multiple times and love it! I have a 4 year college degree in business and work as a Sales Rep for a Window Manufacturer currently over seeing dealers who sell my product lines. I just turned 40 this past Feb. I have no kids and I am not married. What are you thoughts on this question I have. Would I be to late for me to consider switching careers? (Tonight recently, I have read the tread by I believe Adam a few years ago which really lays it out good!) I get starting this late I wont be able to get to the majors flying a 777. However, My ultimate goal would be to get with the majors and fly a 737 or airbus 320. Is this doable?

I understand if I do ATP, time frame will be 1 year to get lics/certified. 2 years to get 1500 hrs as CFI and 2 years at a regional as a FO and 3-5 years at a regional as a Captain. Before I get my total hours to possibly be able to apply at Delta/United/American. (Grant-it no one can predict what will happen with Covid) But Is this fairly accurate time frame I am writing down???

Thanks in advance for everyone’s input!

Chris

Chris,

First no one ever said at starting at 40 you’d never fly a 777. What we did say was you’d never be a 777 Capt. You could make it to widebody FO. IF that’s something you wanted.