Another new "Old" guy, looking at getting started at age 47

Hello all,

First time poster here, but have been “lurking” the last month reading the material/posts here as well as on airlinepilotforums, watching YouTube pilot videos of all sorts and even worked through the TAC IFR interactive modules on the Univ of North Dakota Aerospace website as I was trying to get a feel of what the material may be like in the ATP class.

I have no previous flying experience and am taking the introductory flight on Monday here in Chicago.

I already own a business and make very good money, but I’m admittedly burnt out. I would be able to run it while going to school as I have employees who work for me so I can focus solely on school/studying, etc.

I am curious as to the timeline with school. If I understand it correctly, the ATP training lasts 9 months at which time you graduate with roughly 300 flight hours. I also believe I would need 1500 flight hours to be able to fly per the FAA?

My questions:

1. when the ATP school is completed, is it normal to work as a CFI for ATP in order to help cover the 1200 deficit?

2. How many students are offered CFI position’s by ATP?

3. If you’re not offered a position, how does one go about accumulating those extra 1200 hours needed? <–this is one of my big fears, investing $90-100k and not getting the hours needed to become a pilot.

4. While I’ve been told on the phone with ATP, that all locations are the same, is this true? It appears some locations (FL/AZ) seem to be popular. Is there a reason for that? Is there any plus or minus to attending school in Chicago? I want to give myself the best chance to be successful.

5. If offered a CFI position with ATP, is one often asked to move to do so or are they mainly asked to teach where they attended school? Another important question being married with 4 kids.