At age 46, would it be fine to start pilot training or is it too late to begin?

I am 46 yrs old, US Citizen and have been thinking to get into flying career in commercial aviation. I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Engineering and had worked in IT for almost 20 years. Is the age not practical to recoup my investment in training to become a commercial pilot and would there be a difficulty to secure a job after completion of training at ATP?

Raj,

Please check out the FAQ section as ot has a detailed breakdown of how age relates to entering this field.

Chris

Thanks Chris. I have read some threads regarding age to enter in this field. I want to be a commercial pilot but want to be realistic in terms of career opportunities and getting hired after completion of training at ATP. By the time I complete my training, I will be 48 yrs old. Would regional airlines give a thought of hiring someone of my age? I am based out of Atlanta, GA and the ATP facility is not far from where I live. Again, you being an experienced commercial pilot can definitely help me in making an informed decision.

Raj,

As Chris said I think we cover the subject pretty well in our FAQs but yes at 48 you should have no problems getting hired. In fact most Regionals would prefer you over most 20-30 somethings. You see those pilots are going to jump ship for a Major ASAP. The Regionals are lucky to get 5-7yrs from them. With someone older chances are you’ll hang around for a while and they’ll maybe get 15+ yrs from you. In short you’re a better investment.

Adam

Raj,

I don’t think that you will have any issues at all getting hired at a regional airline, as long as your record (criminal, driving, and FAA) is good. I do think that your chances of getting hired at a major are very slim.

I would encourage you to not drag your feet at all if flying is your goal. Finishing training at age 48 means that you likely be ready for the airlines at age 50, so I would move as quickly as possible.

Chris