Build toward your ATP certification

Hello, Captains. I had a few questions regarding building hours to become a pilot for the airlines. I’m currently a student at ATP and I know ATP offers its students to become instructors which I greatly appreciate but I would love to gain hours by working for Mokulele Airlines, Wiggins Airways, Tradewind, or Ameriflight even if it means the pay is lower. I wanted to know how hard is it to get to work for these companies and if anyone else at ATP instead of becoming a CFI chose this route and has any recommendations. My final goal is to become a pilot for United Airlines because when I was in university I was a part-time ground crew for them and I’m very familiar with United. Therefore, which is the best way in your opinion for the path I’m trying to reach?
Note:
Thank you so much for your help guys I genuinely appreciate it

Kasra,

Search around the forum a bit and I’m sure you’ll find some fellow aviators that have taken the charter route of building time. I have a few colleagues from ATP who are at Tradewind, PlaneSense, etc., who have enjoyed their time there, two of which are presently flying there today.

If you’re interested in United Airlines, I recommend checking out United Aviate, as it is their ‘pathway’ to United, you meet one of their criterion for applying:

You ask which is the best route; however, that may be different for everyone. Note the common way to build time is through flight instruction, which is what 90% of pilots do. There are some that do various P91 gigs and P135 operations.

Brady

1 Like

Kasra,

Keep in mind most Part 91/135 will not hire you until you have 500+ hrs. That will most likely mean some flight instructing is in your future as you’ll complete the program with approx 250.

Adam

1 Like

Kasra,