Career change and finances

Hey everyone. New to the aviation world. A little background about me:

I’m 28 currently a commercial truck driver thinking about becoming a commercial airline pilot. I’ve always loved the feeling of flying and the world around it. I’ve been a musician since I was 6 and been in bands since I was 12-13. Music has been my whole life but flying was right behind it. I almost join the military to become a pilot but stuff got in the way.

I’m looking into making the jump from truck driver to pilot but have some questions

1: does anyone here regret going to ATP or feel like they could have gone about things differently? And is the ATP price worth it?

2: I’m putting pricing together and for the program plus living expense I’m looking at around $120,000. According to lion calculators…. $120,000 for 15 years at an average of 10% is almost $1100 a month. Does that sound right? For research I’m finding ATP is the lowest paying CFI job at there where, on average, instructors are making like $1000-$1500 a month?

Any sort of on-site or clarification is immensely appreciate.

1 Like

Rick,

1. Not in the least. In fact that’s the reason I’m a mentor on this forum. I was in the same place as you and many who want a career in aviation are and after a TON of research decide ATP was the best route. In fact I honestly don’t believe I’d be where I am now if it weren’t for ATP. Sure now there’s a shortage and getting hired is easy, but I knew many pilots who were working as CFIs, with many more hours and more experience than I had who couldn’t get an interview. It was ATPs airline partnerships (which they pioneered) that got me in the door.