Considering a career change!

Hi all! as the title suggests I am considering a change in direction and had some questions.

I’ve been working in automotive sales industry for 13 years (since turning 18) and have done well for myself. I have a family, a home and make low 6 figures in management. But, it’s getting old, the job part at least! I’ve always had a passion for flying and have always wanted to gain my private license and get myself a light aircraft. Combining these two suggests to me that a career in aviation would be a fun and rewarding one and a solution to both problems. I do have a couple of issues though.

First of all, this would likely (hopefully) be my last career change and so ultimately I’d like to end up in a legacy airline at the upper end of the seniority scale. With that said I have no formal education, I moved to the US when I was 18 and was in no position to put myself through college. I got into the sales world and have been with the same company since joining the workforce. Is this going to hurt me throughout my aviation career? Would getting into a program like the Endeavor Air “STEP” program be an option for someone in my position and would that help bypass any hurdles put in place by my lack of a degree? I’ve read through the FAQ’s on here but there are multiple, more recent articles floating around that state the contrary. Giving the current universal labor shortage, have things changed?