Career Change at 29. Nervous I'll be too old before I make it to a major airline

So I’m seriously considering making the career change to become a pilot. I have zero flight experience and will be looking to do a discovery flight soon so I can get a better understanding to see if it’s right for me. I have several friends that are pilots 1 at regional now and 1 that has been at a major airline for over a year. They love what they do and financially speaking it seems like being a pilot and grinding out those years to earn your place are very rewarding once/if you make it to a major airline.

I’m 29 years old and terrified at making a career change, but I feel that making this change will allow me the life I want for myself and my future family. I currently am not married and have no kids, but I am in a serious relationship that I do not plan on ending.

I’m looking for advice from best case to worst case on how many years it could take for me to get to a major airline. Am I looking at 35, 40, or possibly sooner? If I were to drop everything, quit my full time job and focus, what do the next years of my life look like? I’m hoping to hear from anyone, but if someone that has made this decision could offer some insight and maybe discuss their experience and what their life was like during the hardest times of this journey. I’d appreciate any insight before I make this decision.

This could all be moot if I by chance do not enjoy flying, but knowing myself I do not feel that it’s something I won’t love. Being honest the spark of interesting in making this change comes from the current state of my career and discussing piloting with my friends who are in it and love it.

Dominic,

Please take a look at our FAQ section as that will surely answer many of your questions.