Complete Career Change

Hello, my name is John and I am very interested in the pilot program and becoming a professional pilot. I am a 32 year old father/husband that has been working in sales for about 8 years. I have a college degree, but am ready for a real change.

Obviously, this is a big change and will take an adjustment. Does anyone have an experience with my position? Is this a realistic path?

Any information is helpful and thanks in advanced!

1 Like

John,

Welcome to the forum, your scenario is not far and few between, many have taken the plunge and leap of faith similar to your shoes. You are not alone.

Your first step is to take an introductory flight, after that, then you can decide if flying is something you would be interested in. You didn’t mention any previous flight experience, hence the first step. After that, then a discussion and yes (I mean involve your significant other) with your partner because a program like ATP is advanced/compressed/accelerated and requires a full-time commitment, hours away from home.

Brady

Hey John,

I just started ATP yesterday and I was in the same boat as you are right now but 7 months ago.

I’m 33, 10 years of experience in HR for some really big tech companies, married, with a dog and no kids (almost the same as you) and what I did first was fully immerse myself in the aviation industry. The Highs, the Lows, connect and speak with as many pilot as you can. Go ahead and read up and take classes for your Private pilots exam. Basically understand what you would be getting yourself into. Is this something you and more importantly, your family can sacrifice? If you work from home now, that won’t happen when you get into the airlines. Take an admissions flight and see if you are afraid of being in a small airplane. And last but not least, Money. How much is training going to cost? How long until I get into a great airline job and make what I used to make in sales?