Aspiring Career Changer

Hi,

So I just have a few questions. I’m 29 years old, and I have a PPL with a little over 80 hrs TT. Im seriously considering a career change from IT to what I aspired to do which is to fly part 121 (regional and then a major). I have a bachelor’s (IT) and a master’s in a separate field so checks in the box there.

I have to wait 2 years to potentially go to ATP because I need to save up money and pay off debt first. Also, I have a wife and 3 kids… unfortunately waiting 2 years start is non-negotiable.

So my questions are:

1. Is 90 days the typical timeline for starting with a PPL and 80 hours in hand?

2. If I get my IR in the next two years before applying, can I still enroll in the airline pilot program at ATP?

3. I know nobody can predict this, but do you think the regionals will still be hiring like they are currently (taking anyone with the required FAA ATP minimums) in 3-4 years when I could be eligible?

Thanks in advance!

Hello Ryan and welcome,

Good questions so let get them answered.

1. The 90 days is no longer the mark. Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on your take) the 90 day program has morphed to 6 mos. The main reason is just as there’s a demand for pilots there’s also a demand for DPE (designated pilot examiners). With the lack of DPE there was simply no way ATP could maintain the progression. On a positive note while the program is still accelerated, you have a little more time to get it done.

2. You can of course get your IR and still take enroll in the Career Pilot Program. Keep in mind though ATP will still put you through THEIR IR training so it won’t save you any time or money so I would just wait and save the cash.