Education and Flying Advice

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the forum and am looking for advice on a college degree and flight desire conflict. For a college bachelor’s degree, I would like to study criminal justice. On the other hand, I would also like to go to flight school and possibly fly commercially. What are the chances of me being able to have both of these and still landing a job with a major or regional airline? All answers will help. Thanks in advance,

Joshua.

Hey Josh,

Definitely possible. Depends on what you want your timeline to look like. I got my Bachelors in Criminology & Anthropology and did ATP flight school afterward, and now I am an FO at Southwest Airlines. Not sure where you’re at in life (age, studies, employment), but there are a lot of different ways to achieve both. Good luck to you!

1 Like

Joshua,

I see absolutely no problem with your plan. The vast majority of airline pilots do not have aviation degrees, I certainly do not. The major airlines just want to see a degree, they are not terribly concerned with the major.

Chris

Hey Joshua!

As someone who majored in Criminal Justice and is now pursuing flight training, I can tell you that there’s nothing wrong with doing both. After college I spent a short time at the Sheriff’s Office, and am now looking into my state’s Highway Patrol Aviation Unit as a possible option after I get my certificates. If Law Enforcement and Aviation are two things you’re interested in, combining both could be an excellent option for you as most state’s have some form of aviation unit.

If you’re more keen towards working at a Major someday, they don’t care what you studied! As long as you’ve put the time in and received your diploma, you’ve checked that box.

Hey Chris,