Effective networking

What are aviation questions you expect to hear from a casual acquaintance? I recently met someone and in small talk found out they are an airline pilot. I let him know I was a student pilot myself and shortly after they texted me their contact info and said to contact them with any questions in my training, they still remembered their time as a CFI and would be happy to help in any way they could. I truly appreciated that.

I later stumbled upon an article written by an airline pilot about networking in aviation. He really encouraged networking and said, maybe disappointed, that he often shares his contact info but very few actually contact him back.

In both cases it sounds to me like pilots are open to inquiry but I can’t quite visualize what would be an aviation conversation starter with basically a stranger. I would genuinely like to continue meeting pilots of all walks of life and share aviation experiences and thoughts, but what really would be some airplane small talk and ice breaker? Especially when there is such a large gap in our flight experience. When you share your contact, what would you welcome to hear back? Without it being too trivial and coming from a friend you haven’t met.

CĂ©sar

I like your second sentence in this thread, you recently met someone, continue to talk and meet people and you’d be surprised. Aviation is a small community, I’m waiting for the 2023 data to be published, but I believe the latest numbers show there’s only 100,000 - 200,000 airline pilots in the United States; compared to the hundred millions that are citizens.