Enough experience for the majors?

Hi there! I wanted to get your guys’ insight on the following:

I am currently an airline pilot flying for and airline in Mexico. I got my FAA commercial license at a flight school in San Diego 2 years ago. I now have 850 hours Total time ( 600 of those are on the A320).
I also have a bachelors degree from San Diego State University.

My question is the following. Once I reach my 1500 hrs, given my experience, A320 type rating and 4- year college, would I have a shot at the majors? If you do not think so, would this experience shorten the amount of time I need to spend at the regionals before moving up to majors?

I am a US citizen and a Mexican citizen, that is why I could fly in both countries.

Thanks for your insight!

Christian,

The majors in the US really want to see Captain, turbine time. I think once you get 1,000 hours of Captain time in the A320 you will be very marketable to the airlines.

Chris

Christian,

With exception of maybe JetBlue I believe you’ll have to spend some time at a Regional. What I always like to ask people is to put yourself in the position of the recruiter. You have 2 applicants, one with an A320 Type and 1500hrs or another with 5,000hr (incl 1000 Turbine PIC) who’s been flying for a Regional partner. While your Type rating is nice, you’ll still need to go through their full training program so they’re really not saving much.

That all said there’s absolutely nothing wrong with applying. Costs nothing and you never know? I just wouldn’t get my hopes up.

Adam

Thanks for your insight guys. So will this precious experience in A320 maybe shorten my time in a regional? I have heard stories about First officers going straight to the majors without being captains at their regional. Is this becoming more popular with the pilot shortage?

Christian,