How much hours for a major?

Hello fellow pilots.I’m George 25,Swedish and i am now married over a year with a U.S. citizen.Me and my wife are planning moving to the U.S. in the year coming.I have about 3000 hours on the 737.And 800 of them in the left seat flying for one of the two well known low costs here in Europe.I have a bachelors four year degree in Mechanics on an American University here in Stockholm.What are my chances of getting hired to one of the big three skipping the regional part?By the time we leave I’ll have about 3,500 on the 737 1,200 as a captain.
Thank you in Advance,George.

George,

I think that your chances of skipping the regionals are excellent. Just keep in mind that you will need to be either a US citizen, or US permanent legal resident to be eligible to be hired by the airlines.

Chris

I know I’m married with a U.S. citizen for 1,5 yerars now.I’ll have my green card in about three months as i was told,but i know that things like that take time so I’m just waiting.Thanks for the answer.Finally someone who seems to know for real.Some people told me that i need 5.000 hours minimum and i was like whattttt???I mean it is still the land of oportunity ;).Do you know which of the three are more likely to need pilots the upcoming year ?
George

George,

I don’t want to rain on your parade, but I don’t necessarily agree with Chris on this one. The BIG 3 are flooded with apps daily from Regional CAs with 5,000 plus hours and a stack of internal recommendations (you also don’t mention if you’ve done your conversion to an FAA ATP?). While I think you definitely have a shot, I wouldn’t say your chances are excellent. My concern is you come here, get your green card, get your ATP but if you don’t get hired right away then what? Next thing you know you lose currency and that’s never good. If I were you I would definitely apply to the Majors right away but you might also want to jump into a Regional if they don’t bite.

Adam

George,