Experienced Non-Pilot Aviator Requiring Guidance

Hello all!

This is my first time posting here after reading through several posts while I’m in my research phase. I often find myself committing to things before truly understanding the path and then regretting how I made that decision due to finances, time, or sanity so my hope is to see what my best path forward from where I am now would be.

Some background on myself: I am 28 years old, just finished serving 7 years in the Air Force as a Flying Communications Operator for Air Force 2. I accumulated around 3-4k hours during my time and flew internationally anywhere and everywhere. I loved every moment of that and while I had the dream to be a pilot myself, I found myself sitting jumpseat and thinking this is my passion that isn’t mentally dull or stagnate like sitting in front of a computer for 8 hours a day which is exactly the type of job I have now. It’s a decent job that the non-flying aspect of my career in the Air Force got me but I find myself truly missing flying.

While serving, I accumulated roughly 30 hours and a solo towards my ppl, I then separated in September and have moved to Florida where I have started to finish up my ppl which is taking a bit longer than I hoped for due to my working hours. I do love flying but working 45 hours a week, significantly hampers my attention and speed at which I can keep up.

After coming here, I thought I would really enjoy focusing on flying and flying only and that’s when I found out about these schools like ATP. I’m currently about 9 months from hitting my 1 year mark in Aug '24. I was hoping to line up things as best as I can and see how I would accomplish this.