Flights for family members

I apologize if the information is already hidden somewhere, but the search function didn´t bring up the answer I hope to find here:

My boyfriend/fiancé will start flying for an airline soon. I am also a pilot, but I fly helicopters, sometimes abroad. We are already used to travelling a lot and being apart, so that´s not a problem. I am more curious about the travel benefits for pilots: Do we have to be married in order for me to get free or discounted flights? Or can he name one person (me) as his “significant other” who would be considered the primary beneficiary? We have been in a relationship for years and are really not interested in getting married only for flight benefits.

I´d greatly appreciate any input. Thank you all!

Nana,

At my airline a significant other qualifies for discounted standby tickets. Spouses, parents and children qualify for free standby tickets.

Tory

1 Like

Nana,

I’m at Hawaiian and we (and most of the airlines I know of) allow you to name a single “travel companion”. That person need not be your spouse or even “significant” other. I know many single pilots who just list their best friend for the benefits.

Adam

1 Like

Nana,

At every airline that I am familiar with, employees are able to add one additional, non-family member to their pass privileges. No need to be married.

Chris

2 Likes

Thank you all very much, this is very good to know. You helped us a lot!

Be safe out there
Nana

Is the spouse/friend/person required to travel with the employee? Or are they allowed to travel alone?

They are allowed to travel alone.

Chris, Adam, or Tory,

This will be the first time I ask a, “You’re getting way ahead of yourself,” question. I’m truly just curious and have lurked my way through many forums and discussion strings looking.