Getting hired at a Major without a college degree

Hey all,

I’m starting to look into starting my journey to become an Airline pilot. I’m 22 years old and i’ve just about gotten all my stuff straight - but one thing still concerns me. I’ve been working in IT since i turned 18 (doing software development and just normal IT work) and I don’t have a degree. I’m all self taught. I didn’t go to school due to having to help with bills at home. So far, i’ve seen a lot about just about every airline REQUIRING a 4 year degree. I see that it’s possible to get into a major without one - but i’m wondering just how rare is it? I’ve always seen that Degrees are really for getting an interview, and of course with a field i have no experience in, that’s extremely important.

Of course taking on almost $90,000 in debt is a big step and of course having to leave my job is even more terrifying. The last thing i really need is more debt for going to school. Do you have any tips on how to get the 4 year degree from nothing? From what it sounds - it’s not possible to follow ATPs steps to get into a major in 2 years if it takes 4 years for the degree.

Any help is always appreciated.

Thanks All! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Michael,

First thing I’d like to clear up is degree or no degree, you’re not getting to a Major in 2 years so I’m not sure where that idea came from?