FO at a major without a degree

So I finally flew with a new hire pilot that did not have a four year degree. In the five years since I upgraded to Captain, this was the first. This gentleman did have an associate’s.

Before everybody gets too excited and thinks they do not need a degree, please be aware that it also took him fifteen years and thousands of hours of flying to get to a major. So yes, he got to a major without a degree, but it took him a good ten years longer than most of the new hire pilots I fly with now. He will have lost hundreds of thousands of dollars over the course of his career, if not more.

So possible? Maybe. Recommended? Absolutely not.

2 Likes

Which degree do you have if you don’t mind me asking?

I do not mind at all. I have an undergraduate degree in business administration.

I also have a degree in Business (Bachelors degree) and have been working in Commercial Banking since graduating college in 2018. I’m now 28 and looking to start flight school. Will I have a leg up because of the Bachelors Degree? Or is it not as helpful because it’s not aviation related? I plan to do ATP pilot training and then unsure the best way to get to 1500 hours, I know there is the CFI route (18-24 months of instructing) or the ATP airline direct route (which seems to be a very expensive option but only 1 year).

Any advise is appreciated!

Blake,

The Majors prefer a 4yr degree but don’t care the field of study so you’re good there.

As for building time flight instructing is by far the most common route and it’s also a great way to hone your skills. That said there are of course other low time flying jobs but many are dependent on where you’re located. That’s something you can research but getting trained first is obviously what’s important.

Adam