Getting hours in another country

Good afternoon everyone I am active duty USAF F-16 avionics technician 19 years old and I am considering into taking lessons every weekend I have 3 more years till my contract ends. I’m gonna try to get all the certifications up to CFI before my contract ends.
I been researching and saw that for example mexican airlines like Aeromexico requires 250 hours to apply as a first officer and by the time I get my CFI I’m most likely going to have more than 250 hours I’m guessing. I can get a Mexican citizenship by my family so I won’t have no problems applying for a job in Mexico and I’m also fluent in Spanish. I’m considering this route because this way I’ll get more hours in a turbine aircraft and for example Southwest requires 2500 flight hours in total or 1500 hours in a turbine aircraft and while I work as a pilot in Mexico I’ll most likely be flying Embraer jets. Also, I’ll be getting my bachelors in aeronautics online through Embry-riddle I have around 50 college credits already. Would this be a faster route to getting a job in the major airlines? What are you guys thoughts on this?

Alejandro,

While your plan sounds good on paper, everything you’re quoting is the bare minimum and people rarely get hired at those. The second bigger issue is from what I understand Aeromexico (and other Mexican airlines) have been hit hard by the pandemic. While they were able to avoid furloughs, their pilots took huge paycuts and they won’t be hiring anytime soon. That aside again just because they can hire a pilot at 250hrs doesn’t mean they will if there others with more time and experience. I also read Aeromexico was developing a cadet program but applicants not only had to be Mexican citizens but native born. I’m curious how that affects hiring.