Going to Atp after college

Hello all, i hope you are doing well. I am a third year business college student and aspire to go to flight school after I graduate. Originally I was a aviation student, but I halted training because of the expenses and it was hard for me to focus doing my degree and flight training. So now I want to do the flight training separately. I have about 100k+ in debt and if I was to go to Atp that would be me at 200k+ in debt. Is it worth it? is going into 200k debt worth a pilot career? I am very young 20 and will be 21 when i graduate college. Any advice would be appreciated

Divine,

I recently took my son to Morton’s and spent $160 on an Ocean Tower and another $130 on a Tomahawk ribeye. My son thought I was smoking crack. The only person that can decide what’s worth what to you is YOU.

As far as the debt goes (from my perspective) it’s a no brainer. The Regionals are giving hiring bonuses of over $100k which will more than payoff the flight training portion of your debt and you’re going enough that in 10-15yrs you could be not only earning $400k+ BUT continue to make that money for another 30+ years. To me that’s an exceptional return on your investment but again it doesn’t matter what I think, it’s all up to you.

Adam

1 Like

Thanks Adam debt is a big worry for me, but it defiently will be worth it for sure.

Divine,

For me, I can say that the debt I took out for flight school has repaid itself many, many times over. I personally look at education debt as an investment. You will have to decide if that investment is right for you.

Chris

Divine,