Right after college

Hey guys, I’ve been lurking on this forum for a while now. First wanted to say that you guys (Chris, Adam, Tory, and other users!) seem very professional, humble and informative, unlike other forums out there, so thank you.

With that out of the way, here is my situation. I am currently a student at Boston University and I want to become an airline pilot. I took Adam’s advice and took an intro flight, WHICH I ABSOLUTELY LOVED. I’m still glad I’m at BU since airlines just want a degree, and I have something to fall back on if flying takes a hit. This leads me to question however, since you guys always recommend going to college, THEN going to a fast track flight school, what the likelihood would be of me actually getting approved of such a large loan? I’ve seen plenty of guys on this forum get flat out rejected even with work experience after college and a long credit history. I currently attend BU on scholarships (need and merit) that make it cheaper than my local in-state college/university. Are there things I should know that would help me make a quick transition from college to ATP?

Really appreciate your help in advance! If anyone else has had experience with this feel free to chime in!

1 Like

Jason,

You’ve obviously done some reading through this forum (which I appreciate). Education loans are unsecured which can make them very challenging to get. When it comes to financing the best advice I can give you is to contact ATP Admin and speak to the experts. That said as you stated many people with solid credit histories have been shot down and I think you should probably consider finding a good co-signer to help.