Guidance for High School Students (Aspiring Pilots)

I’m Zach and I am currently a High School Sophomore in Northeast Ohio. I’ve had a burning passion for aviation for the longest time, and my dream is to become an airline pilot (or similar), traveling the world for a living. I have searched over and over, and still feel quite lost in the abyss of college possibilities. I am relatively uneducated about the necessary certifications and licenses required for such a career, so I cannot really judge which colleges offer genuinely better programs. Below are colleges that I have found interest in:

• Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

• Aerosim Flight Academy (Delta Connection)

• Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology

• Ohio State University

• Florida Tech

• ATP

• California Institute of Technology

• Flight Safety Academy

• CAE Oxford (Phoenix, AZ campus)

Please share your advice, opinions, and experience! I am nearly positive that I would like to steer clear of the Air Force route, and attending a college in Florida (or similar climate) is also high on my priority list. Let’s just say that I am not a huge fan of our climate up in Ohio. I have heard that Also, I am not necessarily looking for a “fast-track”. I would like an education that will benefit me in the long run, even if it takes a bit longer for me to complete it. Any and all advice will be much appreciated!

Thank you
- Zach :airplane:

Zach,

There are many fine schools out there you simply need to find the one to suit your needs best. First off ATP, Aerosim, Flight Safety and CAE are not colleges and offer no degree programs. All are full time flight academies that offer training for professional pilots. The others are colleges and do offer degree programs.