How is the daily life?

Hey everyone, I am new to ATP and will have my first official day at ATP on April 4th. That being said I am looking for a kind of description on the day to day. I know it is likely a bit different for everyone in the long term but what are the typical hours?

I ask because I was not able to secure housing at my location and I live a little over an hour away. My two options that I can financially afford are these:

1. I buy a van and put a cot and space heater in it or,
  2. I try getting my hands on a hybrid and just make the drive everyday.

The second option has been my hope, however, It’s proving more difficult to trade or sell my car than I thought. I would prefer to make the drive everyday and am not worried about the long commute times, but I don’t want to sacrifice my sleep everyday either. In other words I wont go for the driving option if I need to be up everyday at 3am to make it to ATP an hour away.

What are your thoughts. Sorry, bit of a ramble but I am just trying to include as much info as I can so as to get the best answers.

Thanks!

Caylan,

I have never lived in a van, so my experience is limited in this, but I think that living in a van, with a cot and a space heater, is probably a bad idea. I would imagine that most places will not take kindly to somebody living in their parking lot, and your fellow students and instructors would probably appreciate it if you came to the training center with a fresh shower every morning.

I see no reason why you need a hybrid and not a regular, gasoline powered car to make the commute.

While there will be some 4 am days, that is not the norm and the average will be more around 8 am.

Chris