How much sim time counts towards the ATP 1500 hrs?

I’m 55 yrs. old, approaching 1500 hrs. of total time (current total time is 1479 hrs.) My desire is to start a second career as an airline pilot after spending 30 years in airline Leadership.

I graduated from Ohio State University in 1991 - BA in Aviation, specializing in aircraft systems. I earned my commercial single & multi engine land instrument airplane certificate while at OSU. I’m aware I don’t qualify for the R-ATP because OSU wasn’t awarded the LOA until October 2013. That said, I’ve always been under the impression that a Part 141 flight school (OSU) flight simulator hours count towards total time.

My summary - 1405 flight hrs. + 74 sim hrs. = 1479 total time.

Do the 74 hrs. of sim time count towards the 1500 hrs. ATP total time requirement? I believe they do, because I’ve been granted all my certificates and ratings based on those sim hrs. Thoughts?

Thank you - I appreciate the guidance.

No.

61.159 states:

(4) 75 hours of instrument flight time, in actual or simulated instrument conditions, subject to the following:

(i) Except as provided in paragraph (a)(4)(ii) of this section, an applicant may not receive credit for more than a total of 25 hours of simulated instrument time in a full flight simulator or flight training device.

(ii) A maximum of 50 hours of training in a full flight simulator or flight training device may be credited toward the instrument flight time requirements of paragraph (a)(4) of this section if the training was accomplished in a course conducted by a training center certificated under part 142 of this chapter.

1 Like

Thank you, Chris for your quick response.

I’m still confused based on the below text from ATP:

According to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), a maximum of 25 hours of training in a full flight simulator representing the class of airplane for the rating sought may be credited toward the flight time requirement of 1500 hours total time as a pilot.