Hypertension Medication

Do you know pilots with blood pressure medication? I can see that the FAA approves several of this kind of medication. Is it one of those things where if an airline sees this on your medical record will they hesitate to hire you?

Benjamin,

As long as you can obtain a 1st Class Medical that’s good enough in the airlines eyes.

Tory

Ben,

Generally speaking, the airlines will not have access to your medical records. If you are able to obtain a first class medical, you should be fine.

That being said, we are not able to dispense medical advice on this forum, so you will need to seek out a FAA medical examiner to answer those questions.

Chris

Benjamin,

I’ve been on BP meds most of my life. I’m currently a Capt at a Major airline and it’s never been an issue.

Adam

Thank you all! I medically qualify otherwise.

Opinion question - I’m currently a school teacher with about $50K in student debt for both my bachelor and master’s degrees (age 24). I’ve completed my private pilot license. Do you think taking the financial investment on ATP is feasible in terms of paying back loans, etc? High risk high reward is how it seems.

I’m on an Air Force track to follow my grandfathers footsteps and am scheduled to take the AFOQT soon. That would obviously be more financially helpful but I’ve read through a lot of discussion on this forum and have always been intrigued. Just wanting your opinions. Thank you all!

Benjamin,

Not knowing what your repayment terms are, your desired standard of living, or what your financial situation is, it is really hard to say what is feasible for you or not. It does sound like a significant amount of debt, I would suspect that you will need a co-signer. As always though, check with the finance department as they can provide better answers in this realm.