I want to find out how to plan out my steps to becoming a pilot

I am a High School Student that is currently interested in becoming a Commercial Pilot. Hoping to fly for an airline and live my dreams not only earning a well amount but creating a lifelong experience to hopefully one day relish. I am currently looking at all opportunities but I wanted to get some help with finding the right path to success. How do I start?

Michael,

Welcome to the forum, let’s get right to your question, how do I start.

As this is quite commonly asked, we encourage everyone to visit the FAQ section on the forum because sometimes the question you may have been there. Right now, since you’re in high school is finishing with good grades and participating in extracurricular activities that could involve aviation or community service. There are programs like Civil Air Patrol (CAP) where you can get involved in the aviation field. A lot can change in the next few years with aviation, who knows if the pay will stay, the regionals operate, will degrees matter. We recommend a 4-year degree, but what you can do is start some of your college credits out of high school and then complete your degree as you are at a regional airline which will open your doors at a major.