IFR proficiency during time building and airline pilot jobs

Hi everyone,

I am a flight instructor (CFI, CFII) and I realized that I don’t really get a lot of IFR time. I have done many private students and few instrument. Still, when you do instrument students, most of the time all you do is practice approaches and I feel like I don’t really improve my flying skill/knowledge that much anymore (especially shooting always the same approaches around the area, or steep turn and touch and goes). Today I had a private pilot student, we were out doing maneuvers and the weather deteriorated faster than forecast, so I had to pick up an IFR clearance to come back. I made it back safely, but I was really disappointed about my flying skill in IMC. That made me really aware of how easy we can loose proficiency. I have 500TT and I only have 64 hrs of instrument time of which only 19 hrs are in actual. If I keep going at this rate, by the time I’ll get to the magic number of 1500 hrs, I will probably have a million of touch and goes and a perfectly level steep turn, but not a lot of confident with IFR flying especially in IMC condition. I can’t believe how easy it is to loose instrument proficiency. I was really discouraged today and I start to wonder how it is even possible to jump from a Cessna 172 to a regional jet if I just keep working as a CFI like I’m doing. How did you guys managed all that in your experience? How important it is to have good IFR skill when you show up at the sim during airline training?
Maybe I can rent an airplane once in a while to fly in IMC myself, but I can only afford it few times here and there. I am also looking around for a part 135 gig, I think that could be a great step up from a 172 and get some real world flying experience other than just being a flight instructor, but everything seems to be really competitive to find some job opportunities. I don’t know what to do, I am stuck. Any tips, thoughts, suggestion?

Alex,