Is ATP Still a Good Option?

Is ATP still a good option? I’m hearing real-life mixed results.

I’m an ATP grad myself and currently at a major. I have lots of friends asking me whether or not to choose ATP or the many other programs out there offered by each individual major.

I had a good experience when I went through, but one of their family members asking me questions had the below experience. Any thoughts on this? I’m just trying to give the right advice and have no idea if ATP is still a fine-tuned machine like it once was. Thanks for any info.

“ATP has in house DPE so check rides aren’t the issue… it’s planes down for mx, shortage of cfi’s, and the ratios of instructors to students is high therefore not allowing them to fly as much. Also ATP adds additional flights and mock check rides that must be scheduled and complete before they let you move on to the actual check ride. My husband was “full time” booking 5-6 days per week and ended up leaving after 7 months and $23k and not even having solo’d… He stays in touch with People still there and they have spent the Entire $90k and just getting to Instrument/commercial. ATP can be good, but there’s a lot of bad and having chunks of money taken out up front on a schedule regardless of where you are in the program is not a good thing. :woman_shrugging: But it does open doors to airlines down the road. I would just get my private elsewhere first. And def don’t go to ATP in Vegas!”

Brandon,

I find your post interesting. I have a question for you? You’re a successful grad at a Major, have you gone around since completing the program singing ATPs praise? I’m not challenging or criticizing, I’m honestly asking.