Is there a chance of getting into a Major airline without college?

I’m from a middle class family at best. We dont have hundreds of thousands and I’m going to the reality. I dont know if I can afford both college AND flight school without taking out a loan. I’m a good student and schloarships and defiantly an option but they only go so far and I might need financial aid for college. At the end of the day is it possible to take out the loan for college and after graduation take out another for flight school? Will I get into a Major airline without college or will I be stuck flying regional forever?

Dakota,

Lets address the “getting into a Major without college” question. Frankly as for the financial aspects you’re in the same situation as many people (if not most). MOST people don’t have hundreds of thousands dollars and even more don’t have scholarships available to them. They go to community schools and take out loans (yes while you’ll prob need a cosigner you can get more than one) . Sometimes reaching our goals requires sacrifice.

Now to your question. Can you get to a Major without a degree. The answer is yes its “possible”. Will you? The odds are not in your favor. A few Majors require a degree so you’ve just cut out say half the job opportunities. There are a few that don’t “require” one but keep in mind you’ll be competing against other pilots who have the same qualifications as you BUT will have degrees. That begs the question why should they hire you? You’re going to need something on your resume to compensate. I have a friend who finally got hired last year at a Major with no degree. He’s happy and I’m happy for him. Thing is while most people spend 5-7yrs at a Regional he was there for 16. The money he forfeited would’ve paid for several degrees.