Looking for some “start-up” answers

I have some questions regarding getting started. I’m looking at a potential career change. I have a bachelors and masters degree. Been working for about 3 years now but being a pilot is something that has interested me from childhood. I have some questions as I look to see if this is something that I can realistically attain or not. Assume for these questions that I’ve quit my job and am full time pursing a pilot’s career.

-Going through ATP, can I expect 7 months of training until becoming an instructor as the website says? Does that mean you start earning a paycheck right away once you’re an instructor?

-After becoming an instructor, how long does it typically take before you’re flying regionally?

-Is ATP the quickest route if I’m full-time pursuing this or are there other options (flight schools) that work just as quickly?

Also, it’s pretty easy to find all of the pros about being a pilot. But what about the cons? Just want to get a clear picture and look at the whole picture of the career path. What are some early-on struggles? Is the pay as good as everyone says? (I know it differs depending on who you end up with) Are there long-term cons to look out for? What’s time away from home like early-on vs as you progress? Do you guys find it easy to still have a good home life? Anything else I’m forgetting?

Thanks in advance! Just trying to do my due-diligence.

1 Like

Kent,

Welcome to the forum. Full disclosure, all of the mentors here are successful ATP graduates, so our views are biased. That being said, we all give of our time here because we believe in the program ATP offers and are where we are in large part because of the training we received at ATP.

Yes, you can expect to be a full CFI in seven months. Occasionally people take a bit longer because of examiner delays or training issues, but the vast majority of people finish on time. Once you become an instructor, you will be earning a paycheck: