Making the Right Decision

Hey everyone!

My name is J.D. and I’m new to the forums. I’ve read through some of the posts to make sure this isn’t a redundant thread, so apologies if I missed something similar.

Quick introduction: I’m 24 years old, I have my bachelor’s in Philosophy/Political Science, and I took an intro flight through ATP a few weekends ago. It was great!

I’m new to flying without any logged flight time, but the idea of ATP appeals to me from the standpoint of getting the most experience in the shortest amount of time. It’s also a big (and nerve-wracking) decision and I wanted to get some other opinions to make sure that ATP is the best option for me.

My question then is should I choose ATP over any other flight school, and if so, why?
The instructor that I took my intro. flight with said it would be a no-brainer to choose ATP in my situation since I already have a college degree. I understand that part of the appeal is that you’re guaranteed a job with a regional airline upon completion of hours. Are there other perks that I’m not thinking of?
My last question, somewhat unrelated, is what does the pay look like once you complete the 6 month program and start instructing? I got a pretty vague answer when I called ATP somewhere between $30-40,000/year. This seemed a bit high to me, and I wanted a realistic expectation of how much I’d be making in the 1.5-2 years instructing to cover the initial tuition costs (around $75,000 if I choose the 100hr ME). Any guidance in helping me make this decision would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
J.D.

J.D.

Welcome to the forums and thanks for your questions.

You will notice that none of the mentors on here sell ATP, that just isn’t how we role. That being said, we are all successful graduates of ATP that believe in the program and like to share our past experiences with future pilots.