Misdemeanor Dismissed

I am currently a college student who wants to be an airline pilot and looking to begin training in the next 6 months to a year. However, I have a question about my past. Around a year ago, I was charged with attempt to purchase alcohol underage (a misdemeanor and was not me). Anyways, it was dismissed and I am wondering if it will have an effect on me getting hired at a major airline later down the road since it will still show up on my record (as dismissed).

Apart from that, I was just recently in a car crash, breaking my leg, both arms, and skin grafts. I had to get plates, screws, and nails put in and am wondering if that will set me back at all as well.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Daniel,

The arrest will not be an issue but a few things you should know.

First the question that is asked on your FAA Medical questionnaire is “have you ever been arrested, charged or convicted of anything drug or alcohol related?”. You have so the answer is yes. That will prompt the AME (Aviation Medical Examiner) to ask more questions and they will send the info to the FAA for a decision. If what you’re saying is true you should be fine but it will take a little longer a few extra hurdles. Second should you suffer another arrest (convicted, etc) all bets are off. You now have a “history” and there’s a “pattern” so if you really want to fly you need to remain squeaky clean.

As far as your surgery that too must be reported to your AME and they’ll want a report from your surgeon. That however will need to be discussed with your AME as everyone is different and the results can vary.

In short before you proceed with this career you should find a good AME in your area and have a conversation.

Adam

Daniel,

I a, with Adam on this one, you need to speak to an AME before going any further. I think you will be fine, but you need to check.

Chris

Daniel,