Night landings

Hello, I am a private pilot with an instrument rating (I just passed my instrument checkride.). Right now I am working on getting commercially licensed. All of my flights are at night for this flight lab, and I have lost a lot of proficiency when it comes to night landings. Most of the time I either flare too early or too late. I am wondering if anyone has tips on how to make a good night landing. Thank you!

Kiara,

As you’ve probably heard, good approaches lead to good landings BUT there’s also the dreaded night runway illusions. Depending on the lighting there could be a number of reasons why you’re landing long or short.

Now most pilots have a tendency to focus on the rwy right in front of them which doesn’t help regardless of day or night but that does seem to make things worse at night. You really need to force yourself to look down towards the end of the rwy. That picture won’t vary as much as looking right over your nose. Give it a shot.

Adam

1 Like

Kiara,

I just had a night landing in the jet the other night after not having one in almost a month and I can say that the illusions are real. Did I flare too early, did I not transition my eyes down to the blackened horizon soon enough, it wasn’t the smoothest landing I’ve had in the Embraer, but what do I do
 I debrief with someone more senior than me who’s sitting next to my left asking what advice they had.

For us we’re not sitting in the flightdeck with you, we can’t see what you’re doing to help you “perfect” that night landing. What I can recommend is maybe doing some research on YouTube or Google even for night landing articles. When you don’t do something so often you lose proficiency and this is why ATP (not a sales pitch, I promise) and the airlines train around consistency and proficiency.