Obtaining PPL where to begin

So I just got a big blow to the gut by finding out that ATP requires 60 credits or job experience in order to start. Forgive me if this sounds like another thread I am new to this form and am just so excited to start this new and exciting career,so my dilemma is that I don’t have enough college credits or work for an airline or served in the military, so I must start elsewhere for my ppl. I don’t have expendable amounts of cash to front so I must apply for separate loans in order to complete my training. I am concerned that one loan out will not allow me to get another for when I start ATP. Can anyone shed some light on this if you have any info on weather or not this will be a factor on my advancement into this career goal.

I was once in your shoes… First I should ask, are you confusing “work experience” with working in a aviation field? When I was first introduced to ATP I also felt really down due to the fact I didn’t have 60 credits nor have I worked in the airline industry. However After talking to admissions and sending my transcript and resume over they were able to grant me admissions based off of my work experience (4 years in banking). So first before feeling let down I would call admissions and ask/tell them about your sisuation.

When it comes to your PPL, if you are able to attend ATP (given admissions approved your request) I would suggest doing your training from PPL all the way to CFI at ATP. I have a start date of July 17th starting from zero time, and before committing to ATP, I researched majority of the flight schools in my area regarding my PPL and after doing some thinking. I realized that I would spend either the same amount if not more and It would take me much longer to get to the airlines, and that’s one of my goals right now.

Hope that helps out… I’m not an expert in this but I kind of share of the same experience you are having.

-Earv :slight_smile:

Ohh and one last thing regarding the loan…