Current PPL-SEL, I need some advice

Good day,

I am an aspiring and new private pilot certificate holder (effective of April 2019). I have acquired around 50 flight hours passing my checkride at 41. I am looking to further my passion and love for aviation in the ways of acquiring MEL, Commercial, and furthermore my ATP as an objective, a goal I would consider is to be a lifelong pilot. Since I was in my younger days I can remember looking at my hometown airport wanting to get behind the yoke and fly, unfortunately, I couldn’t touch the pedals at 8 years old…major disappointment! They always say, it is never too late to start something new. I was 22 years old when I started my flight training, March 2018 to be exact, finishing one year and one month later. I am now looking to go one step further etc.

I have many choices and paths that I can take and I’m scared (I’ll admit it). I currently am 23, I have a College Degree in Business Marketing from Penn State, which I have loans out for still through a loan provider. I understand that life is a full of risks and options and this is why I am reaching out. I am currently working fulltime, but I want to fly, I want to soar through the clouds, chasing sunsets and racing the sunrise for the red eye flights. The fear I have is financially, I have already been on my ‘own’ in college where I would starve myself because I did not have an income and I don’t want to be again in that stage. Below are a short of questions which could help my fear of “getting up and moving towards my life goal.”

With my 50 hours already acquired in flight training, will these count towards ATP Flight Schools training program? Will I already have a ‘jump’ start in my training towards my lifelong goal? While at ATP ‘FS’, is a student able to work a job and still study? What is the studying like to getting the necessary ratings, etc.?

Regards,
Brady

2 Likes

Brady,

Nice job getting your PPL in min time. On to your questions.