Officially a private pilot!

Hi everyone,
Just wanted to post my recent success of passing my private pilot checkride! Started ATP @ KIWA on 4/12, and checkride was on 6/20. Day went great, other than the fun of performing landings in 108 degree weather. Hey, makes for a better pilot right? Just wanted to thank everyone from my instructors and mentors on this forum, to the other students going through this path as well, as all of the information provided on this forum is absolutely invaluable! I still can’t believe I’m a private pilot, and needless to say I don’t have much time to let it soak in anyway cause already on to instrument! Looking forward to this next challenge, one of which my instructor and lead both said was their favorite block of training. As always I’d love to hear any advice from others who have already passed instrument, and I look forward to keeping my progress posted as I continue through this amazing experience. Thank you again to everyone!

Sincerely,
Chase

9 Likes

Chase,
Congrats! That seemed to fly by, at least for us following along! That first checkride can be quite daunting not knowing what to expect but you did it! Instrument is a completely different kind of flying. It’s during this phase that you realize if you’re more of a VFR or IFR kind of flyer. Typically one comes more natural than the other. If you haven’t taken care of your IRA written yet, don’t waste any time getting Sheppard air and starting on that. It’s the biggest database to get through so starting early is key.

-Hannah

1 Like

Huge first step Chase! You’re officially a pilot and no longer a wannabe!

Very cool and keep up the great work!

Adam

1 Like

Chase,

That is fantastic! Congratulations! Instrument training is fun and tough as it is learning a whole new way of flying airplanes. Hit the books and spend as much time in the simulator as you can.

Thank you for the update and also thank you for your kind words about the forum.

Chris

1 Like

Chase,