Post College Flight School

Hello All,

First off, I am just in the researching stage, trying to learn more and see if something like this is even financially possible. Some background: I am a 26 year old college graduate w/ a degree in Mechanical Engineering Technology. I have been working in construction since graduating in 2018, but am feeling less than fulfilled. It is a great job, don’t get me wrong, but not what I am passionate about. I have been passionate about planes and flying my whole life, and even considered becoming a pilot earlier in life, but things change. Lately I have been mulling a career change and my passion for all things aviation has been re-ignited.

My main reticence is cost and time. I realize that flight school is a HUGE time and money commitment and I still have Federal Student loan debt from attending school. To get through flight school as efficiently as possible I realize that I won’t be able to work full time, and I’ll be able to start earning money as a CFI if I complete that.

I know it is ~9 months to get your CFI, and I’ve seen ~2 years to get the required 1500 hours flight time as a CFI. Has anyone followed a path similar to this? If so, how long did it actually take you to get your 1500 hours, and how was it financially in that time? Federal loans are flexible, so I’m not too worried about that. I just want to make sure that I could still survive financially while earning my 1500 as a CFI.

I appreciate any and all comments and questions. I am truly excited about this possibility and thank you all for your help.

Aaron

Aaron,