Regional airline choice for second career

Greetings mentors,

Thank you sincerely for volunteering your time to answer the array of questions that come your way on this forum, and for your professionalism in responses. I hope I can speak for everyone that your answers and feedback are highly valued, and do help us in our decision making processes.

To introduce myself: My name is Greg, and I am within a year of retiring from active duty military service, which has been an amazing career. I am not in an aviation-related field, however since 2003 I have worked as a CFI/CFII/MEI off-duty on evenings and weekends with the specific intention to transition to an airline career once military retirement came around – fifteen years later it is almost here! Teaching flight has been very rewarding, and I am ready and excited to make this next step. Slowly but steadily I’ve built up 2600 total time, mostly single engine, with 1800 as instructor. I have a master’s degree, and I am a part-time professor at a university.

I am putting together my applications, and I’m interested in your input regarding regional airlines for someone like me to target. I will be 47 when I begin this journey, which gives me just under 18 years in the profession. My realistic aspiration is to conclude my career as a mid-high seniority narrow body first officer at a major airline. Given this scenario, which direction would you recommend:

1. Because I don’t have very much time left, target a regional airline that is seeing quick upgrade times in order to start gaining turbine PIC experience sooner. This could put me in a position where I’m looked at by the majors perhaps by my early 50’s, which by what I’ve read, is about the oldest age after which chances drop off precipitously. This will be hard work, which I’m ready to put in.